I think almost all of us can relate to having an embarrassing past, especially if you were already on social media and Facebook when it was essentially a wasteland. Facebook recognises the need, and has now announced they’re working on a new tool called “Manage Activity” which will help users manage old posts you might not want seeing the light of day. You know, for whatever reason you may have.
Check out how it works below:
Manage Activity allows you to use the archive feature for content you no longer want others to see on Facebook, but you still want to keep for yourself. Any number of things I used to say and pictures I posted back in high school match the criteria, but I don’t necessarily want to delete them. More like hide it away in my corner of shame, while glancing over it once in awhile to remember where I came from.
The feature also allows users to move posts you no longer want to the trash. These posts will stay in the trash for 30 days before being deleted, unless you choose to manually delete or restore them before then. And finally, probably the most important feature of them all, Manage Activity will allow you to view and manage posts in bulk. There will be filters to help sort and find what you’re looking for, such as posts with specific people or from a specific date range.
For now, the feature isn’t rolling out or available just yet. Facebook announced that the Manage Activity feature will first launch on mobile and Facebook Lite, and will be available on desktop in the future. Facebook Lite already has the feature available, so if you wanted to check it out, you’re gonna need the app.