Uber have added a couple of relevant, fresh features to their app.
First of all, you can now Uber directly to a person in your contacts.
Here’s how it works:
- Sync your contacts with the Uber app
- Type in a friend’s name in the “Where to?” box
- Your friend will receive a request from Uber to provide their current static location
- Once they accept, their location is used as your destination and you can be on your way!
To help your friends and family know when they can expect you to arrive, Uber will share your ETA with them after you’re on your way to their location. They’ll get updates just like if you decided to share your ETA on any trip. So skip the back and forth, forget the address, and get straight to whom you’re meeting up with.
The second update concerns Snapchat integration.
You can now unlock custom Uber filters while you ride. Whether you want to let friends know when you’ll arrive with the ‘ETA’ filters, show how you roll with the ‘ride’ filters or select a mystery filter for an added surprise, you now have a fun and social way to share you’re in an Uber.

If you’re an existing Snapchat user and on an Uber ride, you’ll see a Snap card in the feed. Just select the type of filter you want to unlock, take your selfie, and swipe right. You can even use Uber filters with another Snap lens for double the fun.



