To confirm that users want to pay for recurring app subscriptions, Apple has added an additional pop-up screen. The pop-up will show up after the Face ID or Touch ID confirmation screen once users download apps that require subscriptions or tap on the in-app subscription options. The “Confirm Subscription” menu explains to users that the subscription will continue unless they cancel in Settings. Most apps lure users by offering free trials and users may be unaware that their cards are still being charged after the trial ends.
Apple also introduced a feature in January where app subscriptions have to show the full cost to users before signup to crack down on misleading in-app subscriptions. With the new feature, it is useful for cutting down on scams for Touch ID phones where an accidental tap of the home button could trigger a fingerprint scan to confirm purchases. It is reported that some fitness apps have been tricking users into making in-app purchases while getting their fingerprint scans for “fitness tracking data.” The new pop-up screen can serve as an extra layer of protection.



